“Adorkable” fashion

30 Jan

Today I pay homage to all girls who embrace their inner dork by paying tribute to the “adorkable” fashionista, Zooey Deschanel. A girly girl who loves vintage clothing, kittens and her signature bangs. After reading a recent article in Allure magazine, I learned so much more about the star of the breakout hit New Girl. Growing up she was ridiculed and mocked for looking different, and it wasn’t until college that she realized accepting her inner dork is what made her special. “My best friend and I would wear velvet gowns and put on lashes and lipstick. I refused to wear jeans,” Zooey said.

I relate a lot to Zooey’s attitude toward style. Clothes are a way to express yourself and your mood. Sometimes pushing the envelope, even just a little, can be very liberating. And who knows, stepping outside your comfort zone can give you all the confidence in the world. I found a lot of my confidence with my very extensive and unique costume jewelry collection. So take a chance fashionistas, you may just get the compliment you’ve been waiting for!

Want more Zooey? Check out her awesome, girl-charged blog hellogiggles.com. It’s all things cute, cuddly and crafty. Made for women, by women.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

